Meet the Juices: How to do Your Very Own DIY Blue Print Cleanse

As many of you know, last week I did a three day DIY Blue Print Cleanse, making all of my juices from scratch in my new Breville juicer (read my summaries of day 1, day 2, and day 3 here).  Overall, I really enjoyed the cleanse.  I felt like I was treating my body right with all of the vitamins and minerals in the ridiculous amount of fresh produce I was juicing each day.  I also found that I had a good deal of energy.  I was waking up before my alarm and having good morning workouts.  It made me wonder whether gluten and all the crap in the processed food I eat causes fatigue that I’ve come to accept as the status quo.  I hadn’t weighed myself since the batteries on my scale broke several months ago, but out of curiosity I replaced them right before the cleanse.  I didn’t do this cleanse for weight loss, but because I’m sure some of you are curious, over the three days, I lost five pounds (I’m sure that this was mostly water weight, because I’ve since found it).

The cleanse itself was not that bad physically.  I rarely felt hungry or lethargic as I feared might be the case.  But I did miss the experience of eating.  I missed the pleasure of sitting down to a homemade meal with my husband, or walking up to Barracks Row after work to enjoy a cocktail and some appetizers.  In some ways I think my life revolves too much around the experience of eating, so in that regard this cleanse might have also been good for me.  It refocused me on consumption for nutrients rather than consumption for entertainment.

Moving forward.  Since finishing the cleanse, I have found myself actually craving the juices on a regular basis.  I plan to continue to incorporate them into my regular diet (particularly the green juice and a custom juice I have been making with carrots, apples, lettuce and cucumber).  I also plan to continue to remain aware of what I’m putting in my body.  I don’t think I will ever fully give up bread or meat or cheese or beer, or anything for that matter (except fake sugar… I would like to give up fake sugar).  But when plant-based, whole foods are an equally appealing option, as they so often are, I will make it a point to choose them.   I want processed foods and animal products to become the exception, not the rule.

IMG_2531

Anyways, I have heard from many of you who like the idea of a juice cleanse, but like me don’t want to drop $250 for three days worth of juice, so I wanted to share the recipes so you too can do the Blue Print Cleanse at home.  I found many different recipes around the web to clone the BPC juices and I’ve combined and tweaked them.  What I’m sharing with you is the final product after my three days of trial and error.  Enjoy!

Here are the basics:  It’s three days long.  During those three days, you drink six juices a day in the following order:  Green Juice, P.A.M. (Pineapple, Apple, Mint), Green Juice, Spicy Lemonade, C.A.B. (Carrot, Apple, Beet) and Cashew Juice.   There are a couple of things you may drink to supplement your juices: green tea and filtered water.   BluePrintCleanse recommends that you do three days of preparation pre-cleanse, phasing out meat and grains and take five days to phase food back into your normal diet: first fruit, then veggies, then legumes, and finally meat and dairy.  Good luck with that.

First, you’ll need to head to the grocery store.  Here’s a complete grocery list. shopping list

Green Juice: Green juice is a combination of celery, cucumber, kale, romaine, spinach and green apple.  Basically a really leafy salad in liquid form (minus the croutons, feta and ranch dressing).  I actually really grew to love it.  If following the BluePrintCleanse, green juice is the first and third juice you drink each day.

IMG_2471

Green juice

P.A.M.: P.A.M. stands for Pineapple, Apple and Mint, which is exactly what is in this juice.  Aside from your evening nut juice, this is definitely the dessert of your juices.  I also think it would be really fabulous with rum on ice.  If following the BluePrintCleanse, P.A.M. is the second juice you drink each day.

IMG_2495

P.A.M.

Spicy Lemonade: Spicy lemonade is simply juiced lemons with water, a dash of cayenne and a touch of agave nectar.  This one can be a bit difficult to down.  It’s extremely bitter and is similar to drinking straight lemon juice.  I’ve tweaked it a bit already, but if it’s still too bitter, just dilute it with more water.  If following the BluePrintCleanse, this is the fourth juice you drink each day.

IMG_2499spicy lemonade

C.A.B.: C.A.B. stands for Carrots, Apples and Beets.  This juice also has ginger and lemon for flavor.  You’re supposed to leave the leaves on the beets, but I found the result nearly unbearable.  The flavor is much better with the leaves removed.  If following the BluePrintCleanse, this is the fifth juice you drink each day.

IMG_2520

C.A.B.

Nut Milk: You can choose what type of nut to use for this juice.  Cashews are used in the BluePrintCleanse, but unsalted cashews are surprisingly difficult to find.  I made it with almonds two of the days, which worked very well.  I actually liked the flavor of the almond milk slightly better than the cashew milk, although cashews to absorb water better.  If following the BluePrintCleanse, this is the last juice you drink each day, your dessert juice so to speak.

IMG_2527nut milk

This entry was posted in Notes from a Messy Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Meet the Juices: How to do Your Very Own DIY Blue Print Cleanse

  1. Pingback: Journal Entry: May 8, 2013 | Reflections with Rhonda

  2. Pingback: Juicing and the Whole 30 Challenge — A Sharper Focus Blog

  3. Okla Doogie says:

    thank you thank you thank you for the SHOPPING LIST and RECIPES!!!! So helpful!!!!

  4. Pingback: Super Juice Cleanse: DIY | chivideodiva

  5. Jackie Marinello  says:

    This is great! Thanks so much for sharing this!

  6. Aza says:

    Thank you sooo much! you are awesome the shopping list really did help ALOT!

  7. Sophia C says:

    Is the shopping list for all three days, or just one?

  8. April says:

    Hi, I don’t have a juicer! Can I blend on the ingredients in my blender (Vitamix) with a little water?

    • You can definitely use a blender, although you’re of course going to get a much different texture and each recipe will likely produce more than one serving. You’ll want to wash your produce extra well. The pro of the blender is that there’s much less waste! And more fiber remaining in the juice.

  9. Darci Salmen says:

    How much mint did you add for the P.A.M. recipe? That entire container for each serving?

  10. Erika C says:

    I tried to click on your daily blog and it came up as error. Today is my first day, drank the green juice three hours ago and wanted to know what time intervals you drank your juices in. And did you juice for all three days in one go?

    • Hmm, that is strange. You can find it at Notes From a Messy Kitchen. As for when you drink your juices, that should largely be based on hunger and your daily schedule. I would drink one green juice in the morning (7:30) and then drink the P.A.M. when I got to work (9:30-10:00). The second green juice would be for lunch (12:30) and the lemonade I would try to wait until around 3:00-3:30 to drink so I didn’t get too hungry before I got home. The C.A.B. I would have at dinner time (7:00) and then the almond milk would be an evening treat (8:30). You may need to modify based on when you exercise, when you wake up and go to bed, and what your work schedule looks like.

  11. Cristina says:

    This is awesome! Simply perfect.

  12. Sarah says:

    This is extremely helpful. I’m starting this weekend – did you exercise regularly while you were doing the cleanse? I try to do at least 30 min. a day of cardio and various strength training.

    • I did exercise regularly while doing the cleanse. I am a morning exerciser, so I would usually take a couple of sips of juice before a 45 minute spin class. If you are a morning exerciser like me, another good option is to save yourself a couple of sips of the cashew milk to drink right before exercising. Depending on your body, you may find that you have less energy than usual during exercise.

  13. Pingback: These boots are made for walking and Detox update! | CELIENS

  14. Casey says:

    Awesome juice cleanse! Thanks for making the shopping list — it’s super helpful. Did you make all of the juices in the morning and then drink them throughout the day? I’m just wondering because I want to do the juice cleanse but I’m going to need to make four of them in the morning and bring them with me to work, and I’ve heard it’s bad to not drink the juice right after making it. Any thoughts/suggestions? Thanks!

    • You can definitely make them before hand! I would actually make the first four juices the night before, then come home and make the final two juices and the first four for the next day. I don’t recommend making them all at once, but a day ahead is totally fine!

Leave a comment